Interview

Interviewing H&M stylist Chloe Hensford

Chloe Hensford, once a visual merchandiser, now a fashion stylist at H&M, shares her secret with us for staying on top of the game.

img_1553

How did you prepare for a career in styling?

After going to college to study photography I then went on to university where I went on to study fashion photography. After a year of intense shooting I realised I was passionate about styling and makeup, I then changed my course to styling and got a part time job as a visual merchandiser in a high-end fashion retailer. I am now styling for H&M and learning new things every day.

How do you stay updated on the current trends?

Social media is a big element to keeping up to date, I am signed up to all the high-end fashion magazines such as Vogue, Harpers Bazaar, Elle etc. I am also on Instagram, following all the top designers so I know what is on trend and what is not. Also with my job I am constantly looking at new trends, what is arriving what is going out of season.

How would you describe your signature look?

My look is very minimal, black, white, nude. I like to keep it simple. Baggy jumpers and jeans best describe me. I love a good bag or accessory to bring an outfit together.

What are your favourite trends this season?

I’ve found myself buying a lot of velvet this season, just in time for Christmas and the statement choker is one of my favourites this season.

Favourite all time designer?

Vivienne Westwood is my all time favourite designer, you never know what she’s going to do next and I love that in a designer. She is very extravagant and makes a statement in every collection.

What are your plans for the future? Where do you see yourself taking your styling career?

In an ideal world a celebrity stylist would be a dream of mine, however, I’m open minded on what is next for me. I’m happy with my job at the moment and excited for new opportunities.

Advice for the up-and-coming fashion stylists out there?

Stay creative, keep your signature look and have fun with whatever you are doing, every client is different so listen to what they are looking for and they will keep returning.

Want to stay up to date with Chloe? Follow her Instagram account for her latest posts.

Standard

Leave a comment